REVIEWED: Hen party package at The Owl House Spa, Derby

2 May

Our Miss Independent might be a long way off walking down the aisle, but that didn’t stop her sampling the relaxing delights on offer for hens at The Owl House Spa in Derby.

Twit Twoooo: Experience a day of pure pampering at The Owl House Spa

Relaxation is a dear friend of mine, but recently we have lost touch due to unsuitable men, disastrous dates and stressing over the perfect outfit to grab his attention; a day of blissful beauty was calling and I was more than happy to answer. Now I may be a million miles away from planning a hen party, but a girl can dream; some women plan their weddings without having a bloke so there is method behind my madness. With a huge range of spas available, it is all too easy to opt for the larger ones which boast steam rooms, salt baths and thermal pools, but I decided to ditch the wrinkled prune look and sample an alternative range of treatments in the stunning settings of rural Derbyshire.

The Owl House Spa opened in July 2011, and as soon as my un-manicured toes stepped through the cottage-esque doors I knew I was home. From the array of ‘Keep Calm And…’ signs, to the stack of cupcakes behind the coffee bar; my worries were left in the car and I couldn’t wait to get my clothes off and slip into something a little more comfortable; not the first time I have done so either.

Upon arrival I supped a delicious chocolate flake tea, and filled in a booklet which asked how I was feeling emotionally and physically; unfortunately ‘eternally ditched’ and ‘aching for some loving’ were not options, but the staff tailored my treatments according to the details divulged. Soon after it was time to don that bikini and hit the outdoor hot tub, complete with a glass of something pink and sparkly; I pretty much lived P Diddy’s lifestyle for half an hour and it suited me rather well.

Feeling a tad tipsy but 100% relaxed, it was time for my first treatment: Pig In Mud. My first thoughts involved me being hoisted out into the carpark, covered in nearby soil and then hosed down for everyone to see, but luckily the ladies at Owl House Spa adopt a softer approach. A bespoke mixture of mud and an essential oil, which is catered to your mood on the day, are mixed especially for you, which is then applied to the body as you enter the relaxing steam chamber. You then simple sit back for 20 minutes and let the mud cleanse your skin and revive your soul, before a warm tropical rain shower washes it all away. The chamber contains 2 seats, which is perfect for those hens after a clucking good time.

If that wasn’t relaxing enough, I was then whisked upstairs for my nourishing hair and scalp treatment, which I would highly recommend for the bride-to-be, as any wedding worries will be massaged away in an instant. After all those treatments it was time for afternoon tea, which included a variety of sandwiches, scones and mini cakes, as well as a drink of your choice; there was something quite naughty about eating cakes in my dressing gown, and the only thing missing was a topless waiter to feed them to me; a girl can dream…

From dating to being dumped, careers to cocktails, family to friends; life as a single woman in a modern world can be stressful, so taking time out to lounge around in your dressing gown, or hit the hot tub with some champers without looking like a Geordie Shore girl can be a hard ask, which is why I highly recommend The Owl House Spa to hens, friends, couples and all those single ladies looking to be pampered.

Miss Independent experienced the Hayloft Hens spa package for £50 per person, which includes one treatment. Afternoon tea was added at a £10 charge.

For more information and to book, please visit www.owlhousespa.co.uk or telephone 01332 818 818

 

Leave a Reply

