Hitched & Ditched Ibiza Special

30 Sep

20120930-181741.jpg

Ibiza. Island of sun, sea, sex, stupidly priced drinks and serious clubber dance moves. But does The White Isle only appeal to those who are single and up for it? Or can those who are head over heels still enjoy some fun in the sun? Our Wedded Miss and Miss Independent discuss their experiences…

Wedded Miss

I love going on holiday and I especially love going on holiday with my husband. We have an amazing time together, just chilling out, drinking, eating, listening to music, reading (me – actual books, Rich – The Sun) and swimming in the sea. The thing is Rich is my best friend and I actually enjoy spending time with him. Holidays are the only time that we can have a week with no one else to interrupt us! It’s a time to rest and recuperate and just be together.

We have had a holiday every year since we started dating, going to Barcelona, Spain, Italy, Portugal and last year we decided to go to Ibiza. My other half goes every year with his mates and absolutely loves it – he is into house and electro music and has a close group of mates who go away every year.

Now, I had no massive desire to visit the White Isle as I just thought I would hate the music and it would be a big party island filled with drunk, horny singletons.
How wrong I was! Although part of its appeal for a lot of people is the music, booze and getting laid, there was a lot more to this island than I first thought.

The weather was gorgeous, the island was gorgeous and the people were gorgeous too! I surprised myself by loving the music, the atmosphere, the people, the food, the variety and the chilled out vibe during the day.

Because we were a couple we were largely ignored by people selling cheap drinks and big nights, which was actually quite nice as I hate being hassled. We didn’t do huge nights but we watched the sunset at Mambos with SHM D-Jing, chilled out at Bay Bar, drank shots on San Antonio strip, danced at Space on Sunday and loved every minute of it.

It may not be the same as a weekend in Ibiza with your mates when you are single and ready to mingle but it was awesome all the same. I plan to experience the Island with the girls next year anyway so I get the best of both worlds! Lucky me!

Miss Independent

When my good friend Rachel mentioned the idea of a Bank Holiday trip to Ibiza, a few things ran through my mind; at 27 would I be too old to still mix with the young uns? Would I be appearing in an episode of Sun, Sea and A & E? Would 5 bikinis be enough for 4 days? But having always wanted to go, I whacked my credit card out and booked it faster than a guy usually leaves my bed after a one nighter.

This trip completely succeeded any of my expectations and blew every stereotype out of the clear blue water. As two single ladies, we didn’t book the trip with intentions of a Flintstone style bed rock every night; as I’ve always been in the mind set of any hook up just happening when you least expect it, but we appreciated the male species on show just as much as the beautiful Ibiza sunset.

We partied in Pacha until our feet missed the beat, hit the high seas in what can only be described as a boat party to rival The Inbetweeners, and experienced a taste of the high life at a ultra glam pool party. But would any of these things have been different if I had a partner back home? It’s hard to say, as the only time I pulled was when I went Down Under with an Aussie hunk as mentioned in the previous post, but the laughs and general good times wouldn’t have changed whether I were single, engaged, married or in a complicated open swingers relationship.

Ibiza is such a beautiful place, and how you choose to experience it is down to the type of person you are; being in a relationship shouldn’t really affect that, unless you are some sort of sex shark who dies without a quick fork every 4 hours. The way I see it, it really doesn’t matter if you visit a party island, go travelling round the world or have a weekend away; if you meet someone you meet someone, and if you are settled down then that won’t stop people entering your life.

I’ve never been the type to throw my knickers in the air and get with just anyone, so if I didn’t pull in Ibiza then my self esteem would still be intact, but I can see why people would prefer to fly solo and act out the lyrics to Sex on the Beach.

I’m already excited to go to Ibiza again next year with Wedded Miss and the rest of the girls; married, single, confused or heartbroken, Ibiza has something for every type of woman.

Leave a Reply

